Monday, July 29, 2013

The American Prize—Vytautas MARIJOSIUS programming award FINALISTS for 2013

Vytautas Marijosius / Berlin State Orchestra
The American Prize is pleased to announce the 2013 finalists for the Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award in Orchestral Programming. For a complete list of conductor finalists in all categories, please follow this link to The American Prize blog:

Winners will be announced next month.

The American Prize—Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award in Orchestral Programming honors the memory of the great Lithuanian conductor, Maestro Vytautas Marijosius, music director of the Lithuanian State Opera, and for nearly thirty-five years Director of Orchestral Activities at the Hartt School of Music. The Prize recognizes and rewards the best achievement in the unique field of orchestral programming, where the selection of repertoire by knowledgeable, creative and courageous music directors builds orchestras and audiences, educates young people and adults, and enriches the community.    

The American Prize—Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award in Orchestral Programming recognizes the music director(s) in America who, in the opinion of the judges, have created the best season(s) of orchestral concerts during the past year in the United States. The winner(s) may not necessarily be the conductor(s) who have programmed the most new music (although premieres and commissions may work to a music director’s advantage.) Rather, the judges seek evidence of inspiration and creativity from concert to concert, a balance of the familiar with the less well-known in interesting combinations, creating what appears to be a unified whole.

Vytautas Marijosius
FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Programming—Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award, 2013

John Stickler   Gulf Coast Symphony  
   Biloxi, MS

Donald L. Appert   Clark College Orchestra  
   Vancouver, WA

Jason Love   Columbia Orchestra  
   Ellicott City, MD

Tara Towson Villa   Lee County Community Orchestra  
   Sanford, NC

Tara Towson Villa   Davidson College Symphony Orchestra  
   Davidson, NC

Jeffery Meyer   Ithaca College Symphony Orchestra  
   Ithaca, NY

Alyze Dreiling   YPO Soloist Ensemble  
   San Diego, CA

Congratulations to the finalists!

No comments:

Post a Comment